Thread: My First Real MTB Bike

Thanks

My First Real MTB Bike

I'm not all that old so I don't have really old school bikes but this was my first non-walmart real mountain bike. This is the bike that started the Specialized insanity that is my house today.

This is a 1996 Specialized Ground Control FSR an early full suspension bike that had a terrible shock design and shock for that matter. The bike had an A1 aluminum front triangle and a steel rear triangle wow it was heavy in the rear with the steel and that heavy shock and spring .

My parents helped me get it when I graduated from HS for $300 and it was used and pretty beat up with a rock shock judy fork on it that was bent and wouldn't even shock anymore. The rear shock was blown as well. I bought the new hotness at the time which was the Manitou front fork and sent off the shock to RST to get redone. I upgraded everything else on this bike and added full XT nine speed all around. I rode and raced the crap out of this bike all of my college years. I commuted to Austin Peay in Clarksville and still lived in White Bluff (Home of Mont. Bell) and this was when MB was a brand new 6 mi. trail which is now the white trail. I used to ride 2-3 laps after school at least 4 days a week those were the good old days. And this was before disk brakes and tubeless and being a new trail there were thorns everywhere I got really good at changing tubes and patching them on the trail

Just thought some of you guys would get a kick out of this one. These are the pictures I took when I sold it I guess in 2004. My parents graciously bought me a brand new 2002 Specialized Stumpjumper HT for my college graduation gift and I just sold it last year still in great condition.

And no I didn't ride it with flat pedals I took off my spd's before I sold it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Michael

TBRA Mountain Bike Director
    Bicycle Racing Info in TN - www.tbra.org

Team Bikers Choice

'11 Specialized S-Works Epic 29er