Thread: New Guy With Lots Of Questions

Thanks

New Guy With Lots Of Questions

Please let me know if this is the wrong place to post this but, here goes:

My background - grew up racing BMX, have been racing triathlon/road for the past 8 years. I would consider myself a fairly good bike handler. I'd like to eventually do some racing. I do not have a bike yet, but am currently looking for used in the $1,500 range. What are you guys' opinions on these?

Fitting - similar to road and tri bikes? I figure I'm in the Large category (5'11"/180lbs)

Wheels - 26 or 29?

Buying - what are some of the key things I need to pay attention to when looking at a used bike? What are some preferred brands/components?

Pedals/Shoes - I've been using Speedplay exclusively. What do you use? What are the most common ones used?

I'm sure there's more, but that's a start. Thanks, and I look forward to hearing what you guys think.

Thanks
    hey Racedad, welcome! I'm not an expert MB'er by any means, but I just went through almost the exact purchase process you're describing.. Part time roadie for the last 8 yrs.. Wanted to save $$ on something used. Same wheel size and fit questions..

Here's what I learned.. Surge in popularity of 29'ers may have created a softer market for used 26. I picked up a used Trek Fuel EX8 for $1100 that was in near new condition. Which was a lot of bike for me. it basically boiled down to a used FS 26, or a used Hardtail 29'er. No regrets whatsoever on going to FS route. I'm getting older, and plush is more value to me than weight / efficiency / tighter handling. And $1500 puts you in a range to look at a lot of good MTB's

I can't comment on componetry (not that familiar with MTB), but I will say that I am still using my shimano spd pedals that I bought in 1997. Not a ton of miles over the last 13 yr, but they seem pretty bulletproof (and popular on the trails).