Thread: Leaf removal

Thanks

Leaf removal

I just started riding this past summer so I'm not sure if there are strong feelings on this issue or not. What are most trail builders/maintainers policies on blowing leaves off of the trails in late fall? It would be relatively easy to take a backpack blower and blow off a trail. The upside is obvious but what is the down side?

Thanks
    You are right, there are strong feelings on both sides of the issue. I just did a search and found this thread that was suprisingly started by me. lol http://tennesseemountainbike.com/boa...blowing+leaves
    Chris

"Mountain biking is about adventure and the rediscovery of your childhood freedom. It removes you from the daily grind and puts you in an environment with endless possibilities - wildlife, epic views, a personal epiphany about what really matters, and tasting your endorphins after a long, hard climb. The reward is looking back at obstacles, that are now behind you, and feeling like anything's possible." - Gary Klein

3. The following user says "Thank You" to Bikebrainmaniac for this useful post:

Thanks
    Thanked 2,744 Times in 1,513 Posts
    I ain't sayin' nothin'.

Gary

Thanks
    It's two sides of a coin, for sure. I'm going to way oversimplify things for the sake of brevity. Most trails do better with the leaves left on them, especially during freeze thaw, because the leaves act as an insulator. Some trails do better without the leaves, because with leaves on them, they never dry, and/or freeze thaw is less of a factor.

6. The following user says "Thank You" to Cotharyus for this useful post:

Thanks