Thread: Hello from Smyrna

Thanks

Hello from Smyrna

Hello, folks. I'm joining you from Smyrna. Very much a newb, but I'm interested in learning more about the sport. I've already browsed the forum enough to know that there is a dearth of trails in Rutherford County.

Right now, I'm working on fixing up an old bike that was left in my yard one day in college. Nobody ever came for it, so I "adopted" it. I haven't used it for much besides riding about a mile or so to my grandparents' house on pretty days. Some parts of it seem to be in better shape than others, but I hope to have it in good enough shape to try out some trails soon. I'm trying to get it into shape rather than buying a new bike outright so that I can (a) make sure that I enjoy the sport before dropping several hundred (or more) bucks and (b) actually get an idea of what sorts of features would be important to me in a bike. As a newb, I welcome and appreciated tips and advice (and I should hope to remain that way even as I advance!)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,980 Times in 1,034 Posts
    Hello Smyrna - Cane Ridge trail is close for you and a great beginner trail. Very little is even close to technical but can get pretty fast. Take the OHB SR 171 exit and head west. OHB will turn into Burkett Rd if you stay straight. Cane Ridge Park is just about a mile or so down on the left. There are no signs to take you to the MTB Trail Head. Follow the signs to the Model Plane Airfield and it's just before you get there on the right. Just make sure to NOT back into your parking place unless you are looking to hook up, if you know what I mean.

As for an older bike - what model is it? Make sure to oil the chain. If it doesn't shift well, could be rusted cables. And run about 32 to 35 pounds of air pressure. Get a spare tube, some tire leavers, and a pump. I carry a patch kit, multi tool, and CO2 air up kit in my Camelbak.